Odd Self-Realisations

Posted: January 13, 2009 in Life/Stuff
Tags: , , , , , ,

1. My being hungry is directly proportional to how bored I am. Thus, the greater the ennui, the greater the likelihood of my eating an entire jar of cocktail olives at the kitchen bench.

2. I find my fingernails genuinely fascinating. It’s not just that I flick them for lack of anything else to do; I actually enjoy paying close scrutiny to their ruined contours. I have no idea why this is.

3. The way I roll my shoulders so that people can hear the crunching sound is psychologically identical to how I used to flip my double-jointed thumb and chase the others girls with it. Conclusion: part of me is now, and will be forever, five years old.

4. I have a secret desire to be 10 centimeters tall, so that I can ride people’s pets, climb into drawers, live in a dollhouse and wander randomly¬†on¬†strange desks.

5. I am neither religious nor a believer in magic. However, sometimes I still have to remind myself that science works, no matter how crazy particle analysis sounds. 

6. From time to time, I contemplate seeing a psychologist just for the thrill of being told I’m well-adjusted. Strangely, were I given the opposite verdict, I’d find it just a bit thrilling.

7. As a kid, I copied certain behaviours from watching animals: scraping my foot like a horse when waiting impatiently, tilting my head to scratch my neck like a seal, stretching like a cat.¬†I don’t think I’ve¬†learned any new tricks as an adult, but I’ve never stopped doing the old ones.

8. During highschool, I divided up my personality traits into three categories,  anthropomorphised each one, and gave them names. I still often think of myself in these terms.

9. Keeping a record of the books I’ve read makes me want to read more books, just for the sake of listing them.

10.¬†Given the above,¬†it seems increasingly unlikely that I’d come off as anything even vaguely resembling¬†well-adjusted to a psychologst.

Comments
  1. Maestro says:

    out of curiosity, what did you call your 3 personalities?

    also, do you have a public list of all the books you’ve read, for purposes of admiration?

    also, don’t bother seeing a psychologist for any reason: that way lies madness.

  2. fozmeadows says:

    Med Student! ūüôā

    The personalities were called Saffron, Laika and Phoenix. I’ve started keeping a list of books I’ve read this year – it’s on this site – but I don’t have an actual list of all the books I’ve ever read. (Although maybe I could make one…)

  3. Maestro says:

    I would certainly love to see that.

    Or maybe just a list of Top 100 or 1000 books of all time, or something like that.

    I recently got my hands on gone-away world, on Angus’ recommendation, though I hear you’re quite a fan. I’ll definitely have to read that as soon as my final exams are over and this med degree is in the bag.

  4. fozmeadows says:

    I’ll see what I can do – if nothing else, it’ll be a fun pretext on which to go through my bookshelves ūüôā

    And yes! You must read The Gone-Away World. Must Must Must. Also, you need to read Little Brother by Cory Doctorow. Make that next on the list. Seriously! So awesome!

Leave a Reply

