I signed my first book contract yesterday. In a way, it was a more momentous event than actually hearing the novel had been accepted, because it was concrete, fixed in paper. For the first time, I spoke to my publisher on the phone. We chatted about the contract, diverting fragmentarily into what comes next, and now it’s finally hit me that there is a next, that I don’t have to start reshopping again, and that all the emailed back-and-forth about series names and schools and libraries had a point.

I’m actually getting published.

Dazedly, I keep wandering into Reader’s Feast at lunch, greedily eyeing the ‘M’ slot on shelves and noting where my book, potentially, could sit. At home, working on the next volume, it startles me to think of not needing to submit all over again; that, like a privileged second child, it will never know the anxiety and heartache of its elder sibling’s early days. Wandering into Readings, I feel my stomach jump to recognise books on display as originating from my new publishing house. And so on.

I don’t have many details yet. I’m new at this. But the book, for those who are interested, will be called Solace and Grief. It’s young adult fantasy. I’m working with Ford Street Publishing and the wonderful Paul Collins. Also, I’m now on Twitter. And I am – and will continue to be – extremely, wonderfully excited.

Comments
  1. Maestro says:

    That’s incredibly amazingly exciting. I very much look forward to seeing your book in a shop, and being able to loudly point out that “I knew her before she was a famous author”, and getting my copy signed to keep proudly on my bookcase.

    YAY!!

  2. fozmeadows says:

    Cheers – and will certainly sign one for you!

    🙂

  3. Tracey says:

    Hey, Foz, that’s fantastic news. Are you going to have a book launch?

  4. fozmeadows says:

    No idea! It’d be totally awesome if I did, though.

Leave a comment